Me Made May ’14 – Week Two

After the second week, I think I can confidently say that I can do this Me Made May thing. I didn’t struggle to find something to wear everyday, I just occasionally had to think how to combine the selfmade and the storebought garments. However, I’m having somewhat of a crisis right now that’s less about the me-made clothing and more about taking a picture of myself everyday. I normally try to not let body issues spoil the fun I have blogging. I purposefully refrain from statements how body part xy looks horrible in that picture of me, even if I quietly obsess about the ~ugliness~ of said body part for hours. It’s just such a super toxic attitude. Sadly, these thoughts have come to be impossible to ignore now that I actually see daily pictures of me. I won’t let this spoil the fun and gratification of wearing all the beautiful items I have created, though!

Day 9

DSC00878
Me-made item: Black and White jumper
I wore this adorable jumper twice before my mom, proficient at discovering holes in clothing, presented me with what she claimed to be a moth hole. I have since discovered that everything is a moth hole for my mother, even if a shark had chomped down on this piece of clothing. As you can imagine, I was highly frustrated back then and off the jumper went to my repairs pile. It stayed there until last Friday, where I discovered that I had avoided repairing something as simple as a ripped seam for close to two years. No moth hole. Just a tiny, tiny ripped seam. I KNOW. FACEPALM.

Day 10

DSC00884
Me-made item: Civil War Reunion dress
I adore this dress, but I can only wear it if someone’s around to button me up in the morning and help me out of it in the evening. Not practical.

Day 11

DSC00887
Me-made item: Black Cats Dress, Kirschjoghurtlöffelspaß* scarf
I really wish this dress had a better fit. I might try to put in darts at the back, even though I think the worst offender are the giants sleeves (wtf, Burda) and I have no idea how to change that. The scarf, knitted five years ago, is made from Drachenwolle sock yarn in a super fun colourway that is sadly a little scratchy.
* cherry yoghurt spoon fun; it doesn’t make much sense in German either. 😛 Still, the name makes me smile!

Day 12

DSC00909
Me-made item: Black and White jumper
As a sidenote, I really need to have some pants that go with the A Stitch in Time garments. All my pants are definitely too low-cut.

Day 13IMG_0407_2

Me-made item: Ulm dress
One of my favourites.

Day 14

DSC00917
Me-made item: Cable Bolero
I still have a love-and-hate-relationship with the cardigan. If you compare it to the pictures in the pattern, it just looks so different, and that’s driving me crazy. I wear it out of obligation to the endless hours I spent making the thing, though. Plus, it’s really comfy and warm!

Click on the picture to see previous MMM14 posts!

DSC00774

2 responses to “Me Made May ’14 – Week Two

  1. We all obsess about our bodies, don’t worry about it! *^v^*
    I like your black and white jumper, very feminine and has a vintage feel. Good luck on your next week’s clothes choices, looking forward to seeing what you’ll wear!

    Like

    • Yes, that’s true, sadly – shouldn’t be that way … Thank you, though! I seriously love the jumper, even though I’m kind of paranoid the mohair’s gonna break because it’s so fragile!

      Like

Hello there! Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you thought of this post, so comment away. :)

